Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Competing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    reactiveload
    Participant

I have a friend at work who is looking for someone to do photos for them.  They asked me, after seeing my albums:

http://s1166.photobucket.com/albums/q613/AGloverPhotos/

while his wife wants to use:

https://www.facebook.com/PicturePeacefulMomentsPhotography

Other than I’m cheaper (I know I’m an amateur and accept payment in the form of liquor), he’s trying to explain to his wife why I’m a better choice, so he’s convinced her that if people on this site say she’s worse, then they’ll use me.  Thoughts on the two of us?

IHF
    Participant

Eh, it’s a toss up,  I think she’ll be happy either way.  She just needs to decide between completely boring mediocer blah, or over saturated, over edited mediocre blah.  In their shoes I’d go with whoever is cheapest because quality photography just isn’t in the equation at all.

IHF
    Participant

Or they could just buy a camera and DIY

IHF
    Participant

Just went back through the links you gave and I’m changing my mind about something … Replace the word “mediocre” with “bad”

Notaphotographer
    Participant

I have to agree with IHF.. Neither of you need to be doing photos for people who want good photos. I do not meant to be harsh but it is the reality.

stef
    Participant

You’re not a fauxtographer but not a particularly gifted photographer, but the other is a fauxtographer to the core.

I literally had trouble looking at the images in that other link you posted. I had to force myself to go back to look, just to be sure.

IHF
    Participant