Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Common Mistakes? CC

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    christinanina
    Participant

SUMMARY: What are common mistakes that fauxtogs make when trying to go into business? Please be honest with my work. I say I’m not a professional, but does asking for compensation for my time deceive people into thinking they will get the same work of a true professional, or seem like I’m trying to come off as one? In general, I say people get what they pay for. Of course you’re not going to get the same experience from a teenager babysitting your kids as you would a licensed childcare provider/nanny.  But photography is what I’m passionate about, and I’m willing to listen to everybody if that’s what it takes to grow.

https://www.facebook.com/ChristinaMPhoto

——————-now below are the ramblings of sleep-deprived me:

I want to do more than do decent enough to work at the local portrait studio. If people who aren’t connected to the subjects can find value, then hopefully that means I’m doing something right. Not much makes me happier though –when people tell me they love their pictures (although not many do**, except for the friends/parents or the ones I do for free.) *Could some of that be because I take pictures of people my age, and insecurity is a huge issue? I’d shoot someone’s pictures again if they were unhappy, or have even scheduled second sessions if they were late and it became too dark for good natural lighting in the area we were in and feel that is more than some places offer. But I just don’t know what to say when I think someone is absolutely adorable/gorgeous and they’re all “that picture of my back is probably the best one because no one can see my face” and they don’t like having their picture taken. I try to compliment more in those situations, because they usually open up after awhile. Also, how do photographers get better at making conversation and shooting at the same time?!