Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Would appreciate a critique.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    claustrophobic
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’ve caught the bug. I don’t *think* I am a fauxtog. I hope it isn’t wishful thinking.

I am not a pro and have only taken pictures for friends or family. I realize practice will make practice. I feel I need to work on posing and getting people comfortable. Plus other things. I have been more serious about this for about 7 months. I have a T3i, a couple of kit lenses (18-55 and telephoto) and a 50mm 1.4.

So, what do you see in the crystal ball for me? Is there a future?

oh and here’s the  link .
    Thanks much.

Loke
    Participant

too early, only you know that..nobody can tell you if you are destined to be a photographer…..fauxtogs are only called that if they have not yet developed the skill and are charging for their services…therefore, you would not be a fauxtog but a beginner, but already I can see you are better than the fauxtogs out there.

From what I can see, not bad! maybe some minor focusing and lighting issues…..keep building your system as you get more comfortable with your camera….but learn your camera inside and out…..posing isn’t easy…I’m an event photographer mostly..doing photojournalism stuff so when I do portraits, sometimes I have to really think about posing.  I like your more candid shots, but that’s cause I’m biased towards that style…Look at mags, look at other photogs.. I try to avoid the “trends” as they become worn and corny after awhile…try different things and see what works…..Anyway, keep it up! I think you’re on the right path.

JCFindley
    Participant

I am a landscape “fine art” photographer kind of guy (whatever “fine art photography” is….) and would rather gouge my eyes out with a spork than shoot people so I have no clue on that.

I will say that your bluebonnets are quite nice and the reflective water shot is as well. You seem to be on your way.