Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography What ND filter is needed, please?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

I finally have a few hours to myself this weekend (read: no on-call, yard work or attempts at home repairs :-)) so I’m planning to shoot a few long exposure daytime scenes in a park near me. I have some experience in long exposure night shots, but as for daytime…. well, my knowledge ends with a basic understanding of ND filters.

I will be shooting in a very bright area, albeit during magic hour, and my Seikonic light meter has already “warned me” that at F36 and ISO 100 I would still need 1/10 Tv, which is way too fast for what I’m trying to accomplish. So an ND filter to the rescue, but which notation? ND8, or 16, 32 or beyond?

The light meter, for all of its advancements, does not give me the option of settings for ND filters. Is it just trial and error? I understand that for each f-stop, the % transmitted light is decreased by 1/2, but I also know there is no formula for “Time of day(X) times given shutter (Y) = Theorotical aperture (Z).”

Can anyone shed some light here, pun intended? 🙂

cameraclicker
    Participant

I don’t do a lot with an ND filter, so I only have one.  It is adjustable.  The advantages are it takes less space in the bag and you can adjust it to a low density value so you can see to focus, then adjust it to a greater density for the photo.  I suspect dedicated density filters actually do a better job, but for playing around the variable one is enough.

A stop is half or twice the light.  Half or double shutter speed, half or double ISO, or adjust aperture.

Here is a link to a discussion about ND filters:  http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/neutral-density-filter-tips/

Have to run.  Hope this is enough to get you started.

EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

Thanks a whole bunch. The article was very helpful.