Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum Starting a business…

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Thomas
    Participant

This may have been brought up elsewhere but I’m starting here.
    I’ve been studying photography for around 5 years in a more serious sense and I’ve been urged by my fiance to start trying to make money from it. I realised she was right, it was time to try for a second income on top of both of our full time day jobs. I’m not a fauxtog, I know how to use my equipment, I know what I’m doing and people genuinely like most of the work I produce. I have been really angry at myself if I have had a bad session and have spent a lot of time correcting mistakes in later shoots, trying to get things just right. I learn something new every day and I’m seriously obsessed with photography. It’s a true passion as I’m sure it is with many of you.

So formalities out of the way I want you all to imagine I’m the worlds greatest photographer but have no idea what constitutes me starting a “legitimate business”. I live in the UK so obviously the laws, procedures here will differ somewhat from the US but please help if you can. I have looked this up many times but can’t find any definitive advice.

I know I will need Public Liability Insurance.
    I have already registered with HMRC (the government run tax collection system in the UK, maybe IRS in the US?) for self employment, so that if/when I start making money, I can pay the correct taxes on it.
    I don’t believe I need to register for PAYE as I already pay national insurance through my full time job. I will call HMRC about this to check.

I’m building a website. (currently I’m only on facebook but have not been charging)