Home Forums Photography Showcase Opinions, please!

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    photocriticgirl
    Participant

A lot of people really like my work, and then I found this site and I’m beginning to doubt myself a little. I have not had as many years of experience as some of you on here, but I truly love photography. Below are two photographs (Not charged for. One is a self portrait of me and the other at the circus last week). I was hoping I could maybe get some pointers on what to do!

Thank You!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=630297876999651&set=a.630297643666341.1073741832.376321122397329&type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=628763533819752&set=a.624699004226205.1073741830.376321122397329&type=3&theater

iliketag
    Participant

My first suggestion is to make your watermark smaller. It’s terribly distracting in the first photo and really took away from it. Secondly, I think with the circus image it may have just been a poor condition to shoot in (odd angles and lighting) but it’s all right. Bear in mind, please, that I am not a professional, I am only offering my thoughts. It just seemed like something was “off” and it is really hard to put my finger on what exactly.

What are you trying to communicate with the self portrait? I would have shot it little tighter but if you wanted to capture more of the background I do understand. You have very little detail in the shadows and I think it makes it hard to pick out parts of the image.

These photos are not bad, but I would take a little more time setting the shot (I know that’s really difficult for ones like the circus shot).
    Just my opinions.

Rizzo
    Participant

neither of those really give much insight as to your style of taking photos, so i’m not going to put in my two cents as far as that part goes. i definitely agree about the watermark, though.

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant