Home Forums Photography Showcase My Feeble Attempt at HDR

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    JanJan
    Participant

This is my first time trying HDR. It’s not the greatest shot, but at least I didn’t take one shot and over-saturated it, bumped up the clarity to 100%, or even remotely made it look like it’s radioactive. I just simply took 8 separate shots on a tripod with different exposures, and merged it with Photoshop’s “Merge to HDR Pro”. I did some tweaks to lower the saturation, but it still has some saturation.

Please be gentle and let me know if I’m heading in the right direction with experimenting with HDR, or should I just simply forget about it!

http://www.anjanette365project.tumblr.com/image/56112004937

JanJan
    Participant

I forgot to mention that the sky was VERY gloomy, gray, and bland.

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant

It’s not the worst HDR I’ve seen (by a long way) but the halos around the trees are dead give away. There’s not much shadow detail either, did you do any HDR work in the dark areas? Also the colours  look a bit off, unless you really do have blue roads where you live.
    I’m mostly a portrait photographer so don’t really have any need so HDR but I have  dabbled and found the PS version to be quite hard to use. If there’s anyone out there who does now how to USE any HDR programs I’d like to know. Everyone I’ve every asked has no idea what the sliders are doing they just fiddle with them till they get what they like.

cameraclicker
    Participant

Mostly tiles instead of shingles, yet no sidewalks!  And, short driveways!  It looks like you were getting into the blue hour just before dark.  There may be one early in the morning but I am never up early enough to see it.

Trey Ratcliff is the guy for HDR.  His blog is here:  http://www.stuckincustoms.com/

JustAndy
    Participant