Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography I'd love some critique~

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Michaela
    Participant

Hey there. 🙂 I’ve been following this website for a while now and recently signed up for the forums. Currently, I don’t receive much critique and I would love to hear from you guys. You can find some of my photos here: http://michaelaforbus.daportfolio.com/

I’m a high school student right now, and I plan on pursuing photography as a long term career. I generally prefer nature photography, but I’m pretty open to everything right now. I use a Canon T4i with the kit 18-55 and 55-250 lenses right now, thought I’m saving up for the 50mm 1.8 and an extension tube so I can play around with macro. 🙂

cass335
    Participant

Alrighty here is my opinion:

Animals/Nature:  I like the first peacock, the cat (a lot..great lighting, clarity, and comp), and the last snake. The 2nd peacock seems snapshot-ish, and the tail blends into the surroundings. The 1st snake photo seems a bit warm, and I am not a huge fan of the large blurry rock, it is distracting.

Scenes:  The boardwalk would be better if there was definition or clouds in the sky. I like the simplicity of the second photo and the composition. 3rd photo appears to be tilted which I suspect is from the angle it was shot at. 4th one I don’t find all that interesting. I like the last one quite a bit. The DOF keeps it interesting, and it has nice tones with the various colors.

Creative Photography: They are neat but I have seen the Disc/waterdrops quite often actually. I still like the 3rd one though. I also like the 4th one, it has nice lighting, and clarity.

Portrait: Needs some work, but definitely not terrible. Just some practice would help with that. My favorite….the Doctor Who cosplay. But that’s because I am a HUGE Dr. Who fan and he actually looks quite a bit like David Tennant.

Hope that answer gave you what you are looking for. =)

Michaela
    Participant