Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? I am a hobbyist fauxtog

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    CraigMyran
    Participant
    IHF
    Participant

Good news!  There’s no such thing as a hobbyist Fauxtog 🙂  In no way are you pretending to be something you are not, or faking your way through the business of photography.

I don’t have time right now to go through your portfolio, but I look forward to it.  I’ll be back

cameraclicker
    Participant

I took a quick peek, I’m running out of time too.  Definitely not fauxtog.  Your photos are far too good to make the front page here and the portraits I saw on page 8 suggest you have a good grasp of lighting, which, unless you take up really, really bad editing excludes you from the fauxtog group.

CraigMyran
    Participant

Definitely no preconceived notions of a business for my work.  No more than perhaps creating calendars or puzzles with my work as it progresses. I am attempting to practice lighting so perhaps in the future I could make some money doing portraiture.  I am in-between jobs at the moment unfortunately and do not have the money to buy good equipment so I am using two clamp lights and a 5-in-1 reflector to study light angles.  I am also studying business procedures so that I can run a business in the advent that I would actually consider doing so (kind of unlikely) and have found some good articles at sba.gov.  I also figure if I study lighting angles (even if the equipment isn’t up to par) I’ll be better suited to make lighting set-ups for my short films (that are likely).  Some of my earlier attempts at portraiture included using a lamp and a cardboard box around the hood with the flaps as barn-doors for a one-source portrait.  They were done using a Canon Elura 80 (camcorder).  Tried natural lighting portraits as well since the sun is free and free is in my budget.  I have a lot of  practicing to do and not many people to practice on.