Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum How Fauxtography Starts

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    octophoto
    Participant

I was scrolling through my news feeds on my facebook, and I cam across this gem. I’ve never actually seen the beginnings of fauxtographer first hand, but I guess this is as close as it’s going to get.

http://tinypic.com/r/4v0k93/6

fstopper89
    Participant

Oh boy… I’d write a long comment like “Yeah! Make sure you go into the photography program in college, and take some business classes and marketing classes as well. If you do this and then get some great practice, you could someday be a great photographer! And if you have any questions, I can help you because I’m a photographer myself.” (assuming you are a photographer too). But watch, they’ll probably start posting a bunch of pictures from their point-and-shoot soon and charging $25.

kbee
    Participant

I am hoping this is coming from a high-schooler’s “When I Grow Up I Wanna Be” place, and not a MWAC who has a point and shoot and a baby.

octophoto
    Participant

They’re studying something else in college, but I don’t believe they have any intention on changing their major.

I think that’s what irks me the most, is people actively pursuing other careers (like nursing or something) who decide to say photography is their passion and they’re going to charge for it and try to run a business. If it’s a hobby, that’s one thing, but when you make a crudely thrown together website on wix.com and say you’re going to open your own studio with the help of your parents, while you are going to school for something completely different, which is also very time consuming… that’s completely different. That’s when you’re a fauxtographer, to me anyway.