Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? How am I doing?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    operacabra
    Participant

I’m 23, a teacher, and I’ve recently taken up photography as a hobby.  I’m completely self taught and I shoot with a Canon EOS Rebel SL1 and I have three lenses (18-55 mm, 50 mm, and 55-250 mm)  I edit in adobe photoshop (and Photomatix for HDR) and I’ve been shooting nearly non stop for the past 6 months or so since I bought the camera.  I think I’m obsessed.  Recently, I had some offers to pay for portrait sessions.  I’ve done two weddings (both unpaid) and around 20 or so free portrait sessions.  I just put up a website but am nervous in doing so because I know my work is not up to par yet, I just felt with as many sessions as I’ve done, why not?  Everyone’s gotta start somewhere.  Anyways, here’s some links to what I think are my best pictures so far.  Please tell me what you think works and what doesn’t.  Also, I know my website is in need of some major culling as far as content goes, I’m working on that.  Having some trouble finding my style.  And my flickr is just a dumping ground for nearly everything I’ve shot.  You can pretty clearly see my progress from that though.  And there’s some pretty bad HDR experiments in there too.  Anyways,  enough excuses. here it is.  Tear it apart!  🙂

My Photostream: https://www.flickr.com/photos/126109499@N02/

My Favorites:

Train Station

Justin 3

IMG_0231

Portrait

IMG_6291

Stairs edit

You can be harsh but please don’t be unkind.  I’m looking for ways to improve.  I can’t really afford classes or new equipment right now, but if you could direct me to books or websites that could help me that would be much appreciated!

MrsManiak
    Participant

Disclaimer: I am not a professional, but a hobbyist who is considering one day making the jump. Also relatively new like yourself (~ a year and 1/4 in)