Home Forums Photography Showcase Help a Girl Out

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    octophoto
    Participant

Okay, so since I’ve never shared my work here, nor do I really post here at all, here is some background information:

I’m a 25 year old student that has been shooting for 8 years. If anyone could ever find any of my early work, you’d see I’m guilty of quite a few of the atrocities seen on this website, which gives me a good laugh. If I can find some of these bad first photos, I plan on submitting them to give everyone a good laugh. I like to think I’m vastly better than my once very naive,  teenage self.

Anyway, I do all manner of portrait work, but my favorite thing is pin up and boudoir photography. I’m based in between Cincinnati and Dayton, OH, and I like to think that as far as that genre is concerned, I’m pretty good at it.  Unfortunately though, I have to dedicate a lot of time to school and my retail job, so I can’t focus quite as much on my photography as I would like to, which also means I’m poor most of the time. As such, when I get a good idea for a portrait series, I often times don’t have the funding to pursue it to it’s fullest potential.

Which brings me to the reason for this post…

About a month ago I decided to create a fundraising campaign on the site IndieGoGo.com. This site acts as a platform for raising money for personal projects created by people and companies the world over. A person creates a project that they need funding for, sets a goal, and also creates perks that contributors can get by donating different dollar amounts to the project.

In my case, my project is a Superhero Pin Up series, the goal is $800 (stretch goal of $1000), and the perks are anywhere between a shout out on Facebook, to limited edition prints, and choosing one of the comic book characters I will be interpreting.