Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography Giving away photos

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    nesgran
    Participant

Normally I wouldn’t consider giving away photos for free when it is to a commercial venture but I would appreciate your input on this one. About five years ago I helped start up a series of climbing competitions for the local universities after the series that existed before went under. It has been a success and the series continues on but I’m not involved as such in it any more since I graduated however a couple of weekends ago I offered up my services and shot a bit for the organisers and got about 1800 shots or so from the day. To them I happily give them all my photos and invest time in it (and some petrol money but that is peanuts in the grand scheme of things). It was a nice response and they now have some nice photos that were taken with better gear than a phone camera.

The climbing wall however asked if I wouldn’t mind sending along some photos for them to use for their website and facebook in return for photo credit. Normally I’d politely explain that my services wouldn’t be free, they are a business after all. In this case though I am considering it since getting good will towards the climbing competition might mean that they are happy to host one of the rounds next year. Getting walls to host has been difficult, being a student series the costs are kept to a bare minimum and renting out a climbing wall isn’t cheap. They have had a hard time finding places that A) are happy to do it and B) are cheap enough. This wall the last round was hosted at did it for the first time and it was good and the series looks like it would book the wall for next year as well. They are also a small business and climbing walls are difficult to make financially viable so it isn’t a big conglomerate that are cheap but rather I think they simply don’t know what a photographer actually costs.