Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography "You Should Quit Your Day Job and Focus on Photography"

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    JanJan
    Participant

I had 2 people suggest that I should quit my day job soon and focus on building my photography business. One of them was a full-time photographer who owns a studio. The other one was a sportswear apparel start-up business owner who I recently did a photoshoot for.

I work full-time as a graphic and web designer and I do photography as a side job. While these comments are nice to hear, I’m realistic and I know that it’s WAY too soon for me to quit my job and start a photography business. I can probably pursue it when my husband finishes nursing school in a few years and gets a job, but not now! I’ve been a hobbyist photographer since 2006, shooting only landscapes. I took an online class in early 2012, and I fully started shooting people since September 2012 only.

I wonder if any of these fauxtogs were told this and actually did end up quitting their jobs to do a full-time photography business.

Anyway, if you’re wondering, here is my portfolio (and new website redesign I might add)
    http://www.photosbyanjanette.com/

I won’t get offended if anyone tells me “Don’t quit your day job”, after looking at my portfolio because I really don’t plan to….yet!

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant

With the way things are nowadays I won’t recommend ANYONE  give up a paying job to become a photographer.

cameraclicker
    Participant

I’m on a Vista machine with an I7 processor, 12 GB of RAM and a cable modem with lots of bandwidth.  If it were a random page I came across, instead of a link you provided to your page, I would not have waited for it to load!  Choosing Models from under Portfolio, the main page photos continued to cycle for three images before the Models page appeared, I was wondering if I clicked it!