Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Would love some advice

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Sassy
    Participant

Hi everybody, i am not a fauxtographer because i don’t charge, it is currently just a hobby. I would love to become a professional photographer (specializing in newborn and family portraiture) in the future when i feel my photography is at a professional level, this may take 6 months or may take 2 years plus. I would like to know if i am on the right track with my photography and some areas which i can work on.

Some back ground, i have been shooting in only full manual for under 6 months. Every time i do a shoot for friends or family i pick one thing that i really need to work on (determined from CC of my previous sessions) and focus on that. I feel my strike rate is improving and i take less photos each session.  I am completely self taught, haven’t done any courses but I read in my free time about everything to do with photography. Any reading material (especially on line) you can recommend would be great.

I edit lightly in PSE and use no actions, i am doing a few PS courses currently. When i take pics of newborns i prefer their skin to look relatively natural, i remove some blemishes and even their skin tone out slightly. I am not a fan of the porcelain doll look which is very popular at the moment. I am quite capable of editing my newborns to have creamy white skin but choose not to, its not for everyone i understand but i will make this my style.

I am quite happy with my previous 5 sessions so feel free to CC any of those images, I will use all CC. If you go back further you can see where i started out (selective color and all!), the first album was 11 months ago 🙂

<a href="" https://www.facebook.com/SarahsPics title="">

thankyou in advance 🙂

Sassy
    Participant