Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum Ton of equipment need ideas on setup…

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Kodak.Tri-X
    Participant

A friend suggested this site for some help.

I’m a hobbyist who learned photography from my late father who taught me on film. I made the jump to digital with 5DIII and all L-glass. Shooting outdoors was my dad’s mainstay and, of course, is what I know best. I need help indoors, however.

My problem is I’ve got 5 speedlites (three 430-EXII, two 580-EXII) with a Youngnuo ettl wireless trigger system. I don’t want to do studio work, just nice posed family shots indoors, with flattering light.

Can anyone here point me in a good direction?

cameraclicker
    Participant

Digital is just like film, except ISO can be set from photo to photo and with something like a 5D Mk III detail will be a lot sharper.  Shoot to raw files and you will have lots of dynamic range, or shoot to JPEG for ease of processing.  In a controlled “Studio” environment you can avoid any need for the extra data in a raw file.