Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography The state of the industry in the digital age

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    octophoto
    Participant

Hello! Long time reader, first time poster.

I’m a student/photographer and I’m writing a research paper for my class about the affects of the digital age on the photography industry. It would seem to me that while everyone thinks the place of the Internet as well as technological advances in the field are really cool, and convenient, there are some drawbacks.

I’d like to get your sincere input, from your own experience, about what the pros and/or cons of digital photography are. Also, how do you feel the industry can be improved in a time where DSLRs are relatively affordable, and the Internet provides a platform for unprofessional behavior? Do you think education should be a priority for someone going into the industry? Etc.

I know that’s kind of broad and slap dash, but I just need more sources for my paper in sort of an interview structure.

Also, if you do decide to give your input, please feel free to give me your credentials and/or direct me to your website so I can properly cite you.

Thank you in advanced.

fstopper89
    Participant

I’ve been in the business of photography for a relatively short time. I recognize that I’m not an expert. That comes with lots of time and experience, AND pushing yourself beyond your limitations, which I am constantly trying to do. But, I know I have gotten to a point where I can and do produce consistent, high-quality work, take careful considerations into the “business” side of it, and charge appropriately for what my time and expertise are really worth.