Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Stumbled upon this site today….Am I one?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    PMS
    Participant

Stumbled upon this site today and it had me literally rolling laughing.

I am an artist turned photographer. Then I had to ask myself, am I one. So I give you my site for honest critique.
    Don’t be afraid to be honest.

http://www.apaintedmind.com

Intuition
    Participant

First note: get rid of the music on your site -_- Nothing annoys me and many others then getting randomly blasted with music while desperately trying find the place to mute it. For the most part I like your pictures. No frill pretty photographs. That being said you have a few you just need to pull out completely, namely in the children section. There’s one where it looks like you whited out the background in post, and it’s obvious. Then one where the kid is in a chair with all sorts of weird lighting and bad white balance.

Your event work isn’t strong at all. White balance is all over the place and it’s mostly uninteresting. I would either update it, or pull it. I like your infant stuff, just watch when placing them on their backs, some of the neck positions look really uncomfortable, and I don’t necessarily mean like “omg fix that baby;s position you’re endangering them” more just that it feels uncomfortable? does that make sense?

cameraclicker
    Participant

Not one.

A few notes:

Sound that starts when the page loads is bad form.  If someone happens across your page while at work in an open concept office (i.e. a cube farm) they could annoy a number of coworkers if their speakers happen to be turned up.   I have Bose speakers so if I touch the top of the volume control, it mutes the speakers.  There are other sources of sound here so I just muted your site.  The next question however, is your music either your own composition or royalty free?  Or did you pay a royalty?