Home Forums Photography Showcase Student Critique

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    milhouse41
    Participant

Hi guys, I am a student and I would like to get some feedback for my images

Cheers

http://www.flickr.com/photos/100933327@N07/

Sassy
    Participant

HI there Milhouse, it would be nice to have some more information on you, what you hope to get out of critique, id love to know which images you think are your strongest and why.

I am happy to do a full critique of all your images as i have a few minutes, i am a new professional photographer and i am still learning myself. i get a lot out of critiquing other people photos.

Image one (the band i assume) isnt a bad shot, it seem to be in focus and nicely exposed. The posing really lets you down, in particular the woman, it is really really not a flattering shot of her and i suspect she doesnt like it (being  a woman myself i know  i wouldnt). the posing seems a little disjointed. and the couch isnt straight (im kinda OCD), part of the couch is chopped off. also the back ground isnt completely black, im on a calibrated monitor but i can see the back ground when i move to the left and right, its liks you havent blackened the back out fully. All in all id say the processing isnt bad though. When i first look at the image i look at the couch above her knees.

Image two (another band one), not bad image in itself, as least its exposed ok and focus looks sharp. Again the posing is what really lets you down, every one looks awkward and is looking everywhere.  The lady looks like she is very worried. You need to engage more and let your subjects become comfortable with you, they look like they are very very uncomfortable. you need to direct them into exactly what they should be doing and where they should be standing. This shot had potential.