Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? So, am I a fauxtog?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    cassy_jay
    Participant

I have recently started up a photography business, and while I am only new to photography, I have been modelling for the past 3 years and behind the scenes so have picked up (hopefully) a few tips. I am still learning, but would love to get more into glamour / boudoir photography. I’m a bit worried I could be a fauxtog, seeing the amazing work my photographer friends come up with, but after looking at this site I’m hoping I’m not quite as bad as some on here… You never know though… So please be honest!

https://www.facebook.com/HarperAveryPhotography

cameraclicker
    Participant

Sarah is looking a bit over exposed.

reality check
    Participant

Never will understand starting a business based on only wanting to learn a profession.

Photography is about photographing light.  Shooting mid day without modifiers isn’t going to work.  You’ve made it about the subject first (not that your direction and posing are done very well mind you).  It must be about light first to insure your subject looks their best.  Unmodified mid day sun is notgoing to  accomplish  that Fundamental.  Amateurs are not in business, and beginners do not specialize in anything, as they are still exploring.  I think some changes in your “about” need to take place.

As things stand, yes.  You are a fauxtog

My suggestion, don’t be in business.  Shoot for yourself.  Shoot to learn.  Being in business will just stifle the learning process

cassy_jay
    Participant

Ok, thanks for your feedback, and this is going to sound fully amatuer…. How do I ‘modify’ the light then?

cassy_jay
    Participant

And is there any hope for me, or should I ”not give up my day job”….

IHF
    Participant

Light Modifiers:

Polarizers. These are filters that are attached to the lens (go ahead and google.  There are several different types)