Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Should I pursue photography?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    LexiRose
    Participant

I am in high school and quickly approaching college and real life. I’m completely undecided about what I want to, but have been considering photography. I’m completely obsessed with it, but I have no idea if I’m any good. Of course my family and friends say I’m good, but so do the family and friends of every fauxtog.

Can you guys take a look at a few photos I uploaded to flickr, and tell me if I have any potential?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/68505053@N04/

vanmira79
    Participant

I think you have a very good eye and you are very creative. Those 2 things are very important in photography. I think it’s great that you’re considering your options at this stage of your life. If you want to make it into the real business and art of Photography, college is a great choice. There are many self-taught photographers in the world, myself included. I have taken a few courses in my life though, as well as doing my homework, reading books, learning from other photographers, etc. But if you have the chance to go to college for it, grab that chance and don’t let go! Of course this is just my very humble opinion. 🙂

OctoberMoon
    Participant

I also think you have a good eye. But one thing you need to watch out for in portraiture is separation of subject from background. There isn’t any in this picture. http://www.flickr.com/photos/68505053@N04/8263938825/in/photostream A more blurred background would help there tremendously.

creyes8519
    Participant

You’ve got a lot of potential to be a great photographer.  I say go for it!  What kind of photography would you like to do?

LexiRose
    Participant

Thanks for the feedback! Creyes8519, I definitely would want to do photography of people. If you guys think I have potential, what exactly do I need to improve on? What steps can I take towards a career in photography?

EvilDaystar