Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Scared to show up on this website.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Erikalindsaymarie
    Participant

I don’t think I’m a fauxtog but it does scare me to be on this website. lol

I’ve been doing photography for about 2 years. I’m 21 years old and love every minute of photography but sometimes the fauxtogs in my area bring it down because clients expect $30 sessions for session and CD.

Regardless though I’d love to have some critique and hear what you guys have to say.

http://www.facebook.com/erikamariephotography

nairbynairb
    Participant

I really, really like your newborn stuff!

You should look into getting a site up, Facebook is handy to get your stuff out there but it doesn’t show professionalism or dedication. Try and keep your personal stuff off the photography’s Facebook page too (random shots of the dog and rain clouds specifically.)

Your pictures are amazing when you’ve put thought into the compositions, but a few of them just seem like you took them without knowing what you wanted it to look like.

I definitely think you’re on the right path though, keep it up!

MBChamberlain
    Participant

I think you’re right, you’re definitely not a fauxtog. You’ve got a wonderful eye and a good artistic sensibility.

That being said, you may have rushed into the business a little bit too quickly. You have some really good foundations in your work, but it is just a bit amateurish from a production standpoint. I feel that by running headlong into the business side of things you really haven’t had a chance to experiment, to branch out and develop your own style. The biggest problem I see is that I have seen every shot in your portfolio before, most hundreds of timed. They are good, but I can’t tell how much of that is you, and how much of that is your ability to reproduce things  you’ve seen.