Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? opinions

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    camilledavis87
    Participant

I have been shooting less than a year.. Mostly my kids.. self taught. I have a canon xsi most shots are with a 50mm 1.8 lens. I shoot in manual. I edit some in lightroom. I have been trying to work on focus and seeing light.. Please let me know what you think.. some of the photos on my youpic account are older and some are as recent as today.. hopefully you can see a difference.. anyways yall are the harshes bunch of critics 🙂 so please let me know what you think for a beginner, self taught.. I shoot in natural light.. I do not charge or really photograph for anyone else except maybe friends…

https://youpic.com/user/camilledavis182

EyeDocPhotog
    Participant

I’m not a fan of selective color, especially the eyes of a child.

You’ve chopped off hands, feet, foreheads, arms, & necks.

B&W?  Not feeling the mood there.

You need to practice composition.

You need to practice the interplay between light AND shadow.

FOCUS!!

You say you’re seeing the light, but you’re not applying it.

Pet Peeve: every noobie asiking for critique says the same thing – “I don’t charge, and I know I need way more practice.” Then they have watermarks on their photos…? And, what’s the meaning of ‘imperfectly imaginable photography’? I mean, I had to think about that for 2 minutes or so to finally conclude there’s no link between that name and any of the photos on youpic, except to you alone..

cameraclicker
    Participant

Generally enjoyed the photos.  I will address a few specifically.