Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? New and Aspiring Photographer Here

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    JanJan
    Participant

Hi everyone! I’m a new and aspiring photographer. (My portoflio – http://www.photosbyanjanette.com/) I have been taking pictures of people for only 4-5 months. Prior to this, I used to only take pictures of landscapes for years, so I had some basic understanding of aperture, shutter speed, ISO, etc. It wasn’t until 4-5 months ago that I started to build my equipment and invest in lenses.

I started off doing TFP shoots through postings from Craig’s List and Model Mayhem, but this one particular person took advantage of my time. She entered in a calendar contest for an online store that only gears to a certain type of clientele and she won to appear on the cover and the month of January. However, the company expected her to submit the photos. Because this was my first photo shoot ever, I agreed to it for exposure and portfolio building. I did a series of photo shoots that totaled up to about 6-7 hours on 3 separate days. I also spent about 2-3 hours editing photos in Lightroom and retouching in Photoshop. (I work full-time as a graphic and web designer, and have 7 years experience working in Photoshop.) The only money that came out of her pocket was $5 to pay half of a $10 admission for a festival where SHE wanted me to take pictures. When the calendar came out, she didn’t even bother to get me a copy.

About a couple months ago, I placed a post on Craig’s List advertising $60 for up to 2 hours to ensure that no one takes advantage of me. I only do TFP shoots for models who I actually believe has a shot of getting agency work (for example, a wannabe male model with a 6-pack and nice face will take priority over someone who is too scrawny and has a decent face). I’ve been getting very good feedback from friends and every person who has paid me $60 for my work were very happy with the results.