Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Needing reassurance!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 36 total)
  • Author

Hey everyone!  I am here to make sure im not a fauxtog lol.  I am completely self taught.  I spent about 3 months of staying up till 4am researching as much as I could…..I wasn’t a hobbyist turn professional, I decided from the beginning that I wanted to have a legit business.  I have been photographing newborns since February and before that I have never shot any other subject besides my own kids.  I think my first images were actually pretty decent because I had an understanding of how everything worked.

Anyway, I am now in my 9th month of business and my 9th month of taking photographs.  I take paying clients.  I guess I just want some real CC on my images and to reassure me that im not a fauxtog lol.  There are many in my area, I recently shot a wedding where the main shooter didn’t even know what a prime lens is!

Looking forward to hearing from you all!

http://www.facebook.com/jvendettiphotography

MBChamberlain
    Participant

Let me see if I understand the timeline correctly… You decided you wanted to start a photography business, studies for 3 months and went pro?

I’m sorry to have to tell you this, but it is completely impossible to learn enough in 2 years to go pro. Most people who take a 4 year degree program and spend all of their waking time doing photography for 4 years with directed instruction barely know enough to go pro at graduation.