Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? looking for some honesty. :-D

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Lee14k
    Participant

hi everyone!

i’m looking to pursue photography as a career; i’m a pre-college high school student as of now. i shoot with a canon rebel t3 and i’ve been told i have a very good eye but i wanted to see what others who don’t know me thought. i edit with photoshop elements, though i edited some with snapseed, which is an okay program i got for cheap that got the job done. i try to touch up gently or very little at all. i don’t use program mode, i like shutter priority because it’s a little less chaotic with playing with settings. i also manually focus; i think it’s important that i learn how everything works without the camera doing it for me most of the time.

my favorite kind of photography is macro and closeups but i do try and branch out and go into landscapes. not many people like getting their pictures taken so i only have one portrait in my portfolio as of now, and it’s an early one.

i don’t think i’m a fauxtog. i know i’m still beginning but i would say for my age and experience i’m in a decent boat. i’m hoping to pursue illustration career wise and use photography on the side to earn money and as more leverage for getting a job, because someone who can shoot a good picture is always wanted in the art industry.

i’d like to upgrade this year or next year to a mid-level dslr but i think my camera is getting the job done superbly now.

so what do you think? 🙂 btw, a lot of this stuff is being considered for my portfolio, the majority of it i’m not certain on whether or not i’ll want to put it in. also, some of these were taken with a high-powered point and shoot, a canon powershot(i forget which model.) that worked pretty well for a while.

iwishpluckyshotme
    Participant