Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Looking for Critique

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Greeny
    Participant

Hey guys. I am new to this site and would appreciate some feedback. I have been shooting for about two years in a variety of settings and am looking to make the step from amateur to professional. Here is my website:

http://iangg0.wix.com/iang-photography

Looking for any thoughts & advice.

Cheers

nairbynairb
    Participant

You’ve got a good start I think.

You need to watch your horizon lines in your landscapes (they look weird when they aren’t level).

I think you need to put a bit more thought into your images, and maybe spend more time on them afterwards.

What I just said mostly applies to your cosplay ones that just look like snapshots of people in cool costumes (which is cool, but you aren’t trying to just take snapshots)

Easily you can take a cool snapshot and make it into a better photo by spending some time (7 mins for this) in photoshop:
    Before/After
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/80294871@N07/10824161994/lightbox/

Let me know if you would like me to show you what I did so that you can apply it to the full resolution image.

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant

Like Nairby says, you have a good start. You’ve got too many shots to comment on everything so I’ll stick to the cosplay section. The shots of the guy with the husky are way ahead of all the others. They actually have a feel about them. Everything else is very staged looking and too brightly lit. I don’t mean over exposed, just overly bright ( even some of the night shots).There’s no atmosphere in any of them. Super heros have a secret life and they live in the shadows. Yours are shot in the desert in bright sun shine. The Jedi’s are the good guys, they are repelled by the dark side, but you shot them at night (so you see the light sabres?) Yet you didn’t have the light sabre turned on in one of the best shots.