Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Let me have it.. But as nice as possible ;) haha

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    courtabernathy
    Participant

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Courtney-Abernathy-Photography/204465736349684?ref=hl

^ Check out my page.
    A little background – Im a legal business in NC. I shoot on manual and in RAW format. I edit in CS5. I’ve had one basic photog classes at the local college that taught me nothing I hadn’t learned from the internet or my manual :/
    I’m taking a break and either perusing a photo technology degree or graphic design next year…
    I’d like to make this my thing one day and I recently started working with (on my own) off camera lighting, but I haven’t done any examples of it with a real person yet.. Just stuffed toys. Eventually, I’ll share those to get critiques.

I’d really just like some in-depth CC to help me grow.
    I know I’m not a pro.. I’ve loved photography all my life but I bought my first dslr this January and had people asking to do pictures around May, so I started my business this August. I’d just like to know how I’m doing so far 🙂
    Thanks!

courtabernathy
    Participant

Ps- I’m not calibrated yet 🙁 hopefully after Christmas!

SEC
    Participant

I’ll go first.

I pulled up the Facebook photos page and started clicking through. The great thing is that I don’t see horrid, unforgivable photos. I’d say you are well on your way…but I can offer some tips to help you look more professional and possibly train your eye.

Crayon/marker/comic sans-like fonts scream out amateur. I realize you aren’t using Comic Sans specifically, but it is a font with the same whimsical, fun, not-serious feeling. That may be what you actually WANT to depict, but then you also want to become professional. In my opinion, the lines, fonts and whirlygigs around your work take much away from the photos. Is that what you want?