Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Learning, curious to see how I'm doing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    MrsManiak
    Participant

https://www.flickr.com/photos/125310041@N02/

I guess I’ll start here. I’m a beginner hobbyist. As in, 6 months in. I have an entry level camera (Nikon D5100), and (mostly) use a 1.8 “nifty fifty”, as I’ve seen it called here. I’m constantly reading photography forums, blogs, tutorials, etc. and I think I’m going about it the right way. I shoot manual, have a grasp of iso/f-stop/shutter speed correlation, and shoot RAW. I haven’t quite gotten the hang of my external flash, but I never ever ever use my pop up. I just want to know how I’m doing. I know I have a long way to go, but it would be nice to get feedback from more than just my photographer friend who is teaching me (I’ve actually helped her grow with the pointers I’ve read, so maybe she just got me started lol). I’ve also bee using photoshop for about 8 years, so I guess I have that going for me in the sense of edits. Please be gentle. Thank you!!

nesgran
    Participant

Your animal and flower photos are nice but there isn’t that much to say about them to be honest. Everyone and their dog takes photos of their cats and post them on the internet. In general these photos aren’t strong enough in composition/subject/colour/etc to stand on their own. If you created a series of shots it might work as a whole but the one offs, well they don’t add much.

The portraits on the other hand are a different matter. Girl with black furry hood up, this is a great shot slightly ruined sadly. She has a great expression, the composition works well for me but sadly focus is on the furry hood instead of her eyes. This could have been a great shot if it was just a little sharper. I would probably have lightened up her face a little, either with a smidge of fill flash or afterwards in post. A third of a stop would be my suggestion as a starting point.