Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Just for Fun

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Karalee
    Participant

I’m obviously nowhere near professional, but I thought I’d go ahead and get some opinions. I’ve had my DSLR for about 8 months, but I’m currently a student and have a job, so I don’t have as much time to work on my photography as I would like to.

https://www.facebook.com/KaraleeScoutenPhotography

Nightrose
    Participant

The good: Your portraits overall are quite good, and I particularly like the first black and white shot of Sarah holding the 2013 sign – nicely composed with interesting bokeh in the background. I also really like the girl holding the mask to her face in Wall Photos. You also seem to have quite a flair for action/movement shots – the muddy water splashing, the dancers and the kids playing.

The not so good: There are quite a few photos in your albums which look out of focus (unless it is Facebook which has destroyed them). For portraits it is better to use a single focal point, and aside from a few exceptions, the eyes should pretty much always be in focus.  Your wedding album is, in my opinion, the weakest, because there are a lot of pics which don’t have great focus or look grainy/oversharpened. Wedding photography is super challenging as everything happens so quickly, and you have one chance to get it right, with no do-overs. It isn’t something to be taken lightly and not everyone is cut out to be a wedding photographer (which isn’t to say you can’t try!).