Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum Just can't do it!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    linkedforever
    Participant

I am a photographer in the Philadelphia area. Like all areas, I am seeing my market oversaturated with fauxtogs. I can think of a half dozen people who’s work I’d like to see on this site but I just can’t bring myself to submit it! I once started my career. I churned out some tacky selective colors. I rented a fish-eye, a macro, and a lens baby and went nuts, and produced a whole lot of crap that I was really proud of at the time and am ashamed of today. I bought peel-and-stick albums and had books made at Shutterfly. Today, I’m an award-winning photographer and I’ve definitely earned my place in the ranks. But what about all these other folks…do they deserve a chance? Or should I paste links to the absolute junk that they are charging people for???

Res
    Participant

I’m in the same boat, but the ones that I’m seeing are people I know. These are men and women that I graduated HS with, whose names I know and struggles I’ve seen. That’s why I can’t bring myself to do it. I know how horrible I’d feel if my work popped up on this site for public ridicule.

I’m torn. But I still visit YANAP, day after day, and chortle with the rest.

I’m going to hell.

Submit it!

faux not funny
    Participant

I’ve submitted loads of fauxtogs, but none of them have ever been posted on the website.

IHF
    Participant

I’ve submitted, and every single one has been  featured.  Most were people I have argued with on YANAP itself.  (or other forums/sites like itIf you are going to argue and talk the talk and not have the walk to back it up…. Well… Someone is going to call you on it.  You may be able to fool the fools but youcan’t fool the people who  actually photograph.  We can see right through all the smoke and mirrors.