Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum Is there anything my friend can do?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    snap_happy
    Participant

So my friend had a newborn shoot with a ‘professional’ photographer.  The photographer actually approached my friend and offered a free shoot to build up her portfolio, and my friend was thrilled.

As new photographers go, her work isn’t bad, but her attitude stank.  She was 90 minutes late to the shoot (despite sending out a strict preparation list for my friend to adhere to) and, weeks later, the photos were still not ready.  When they did finally arrive, the editing was ‘shoddy’ to say the least.  I’m no expert, but I could see partial background erasure, ‘fuzzy’ outlines of skin (where the background has been brushed away and overlapped the skin), really dodgy skin tones and the like.

My friend um-ed and ah-ed for ages over whether to say anything, but eventually did.  The photographer was less than impressed at my friend’s (legitimate) issues, insisted she could see nothing wrong with them.  She blamed my friend for ‘rushing’ her (this was WEEKS later, mind!) and, after much back and forth and insults, agreed to re-edit the photos on the condition that my friend delete the current ones.

My friend agreed to this (rather ludicrous) request and deleted the photos in good faith.  It is now over 9 weeks since her newborn shoot, and she has no photos.  The photographer supposedly sent the disc out twice, yet nothing has arrived.  She has blocked my friend from her Facebook page and refused to answer PMs from my friend’s husband.  My friend’s mother has even tried contacting the photographer, with predictable results.  The photographer claims she has deleted the photos from her hard drive, so there are now no copies in existence at all!