Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? I think I'm ready to ask for criticism, but I'm terrified of being inadequate.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    mynameisRachel
    Participant

Hi everyone! I am a hobbyist, I’ve never been paid (or asked for money) from anyone I’ve photographed (uh, it also helps that I tend to use my sister as a subject) and I don’t “run” or pretend like I have a business, so that means I’m not “technically” a fauxtog, but as I said in the title, I’m terrified of being inadequate. I have a starter-level DSLR, I use either a kit lens or a super-awesome telephoto lens, and since I’m a college student that’s all I will use for quite a while. I would like to think that I should be able to take amazing pictures despite my camera, but I feel like I’ve been having focus issues (or maybe it’s me?) with my kit lens, and it has been a few years so maybe it’s just getting old. I took an intro photography class to get all the basics down so the good news is I can run my camera manually (although sometimes WB trips me up) without difficulty. I would like to think that for a 17 year old I’m doing pretty well, but I also feel like I should be improving so much more than I am. My only consolation I have is looking at the pictures I took when I started and realizing I have improved quite a bit over a couple of years. Anyway, enough talking, more looking at pictures!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/92660812@N03/

I don’t have too many pictures because I am constantly realizing flaws with ones I thought I liked, resulting in my removing them from all places online.
    And what do I want to know? Well… Am I doing well for my circumstances? Do I have something or am I just another run-of-the-mill person with a camera?

Nightrose
    Participant