Home Forums Photography Showcase I guess I better share

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    andyhal
    Participant

I’ve been roaming this site for months. I’ve posted a few times, too, as some of you have noticed. I figured that, if I’m going to say anything about anybody, I guess I better be willing to have my stuff seen. Though I’ve had my stuff critiqued, I’ve not shown it here yet. My main job is IT and photography is currently a hobby, though I’m working to change that.

I also work as an assistant for a local professional photographer (mostly maintaining equipment and keeping things on track while she fires away at pictures). Anyway, I’m much better than what I was 8 years ago when I got my first digital camera, but still have plenty of room to grow. Critiques are welcome.  One of the pictures in here (the one of the lady laughing against the tree) I know is probably not one most people would include in a regular portfolio.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/93547140@N07/

jessnaylor6
    Participant

I like the first 3 images, but the 4th has very harsh shadows from the sun.  Try to shoot in some shade, or closer to dusk maybe.

Bill
    Participant

Hello Andy and glad to offer some critique for your photos. I offer true honest opinions and advice from a photographers point of view. My critique is not to harm or just bash others but a true assessment of what I see. I have some extra time today as I have no shoots scheduled for today.

Image 1 – the flower looks nice but maybe a bit dark and the DOF seems to shallow. IMO, I maybe would have opened up the DOF just slightly and brought some more vibrance into the flower to make it pop. Just curious, what were the settings you shot this at, the EXIF is not listed.