Home Forums Photography Showcase I don't think I'm a fauxtog, but still value critiques

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    RJoe
    Participant

I just started shooting again after setting my camera down for a while. Just uploaded a couple new files here;

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30156126@N08/

– they reflect a change in my workflow. What do you think about the two newest additions? (toddler in orange / blue)

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant

I can’t see any massive difference in shooting style. The site has too many shots of too many subjects to make a coherent portfolio. That said, there are some nice shots and everything seems sharp and well exposed.

I’m guessing the top three shots all feature the same toddler? I’m guessing because none of them actually show his face! They are fine as personal holiday pics, but if you were trying to sell them there’s a few problems. Mainly the colour difference between them. There’s a red/brown boy in front of a red wall. A Yellow boy on a yellow beach and a chocolate brown boy on a blue beach. Also the people in the background of the second shot are distracting and both the beach shots could do with a lower camera angle.

RJoe
    Participant

Worst Case: hey thanks for taking time to look. Thanks for the feedback.

cameraclicker
    Participant

I don’t mind the differences in colour.  There is a lot of reflection off the red wall and you are into gold hour followed by the blue hour.  You can colour correct them all but then you loose the ambient light.  You could light the toddler with a flash which would keep him the same colour while the ambient light remains as it is but you have to keep the flash off the background which can be a challenge.  There are tricks for that, of course.  As individual pictures, I think the light is fine as it is.

The wall is too busy.  Did you sharpen it?