Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum How many make their living from photography

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Notaphotographer
    Participant

I am wondering how many people on here make 100% of their income from photography or photography related fields.

IHF
    Participant

I think I may hear crickets lol

You may have just started the slowest, quietest thread that will ever be on YANAP, but I’m going to subscribe because my curiosity is up too.

And  btw Im not a pro, nor do I pretend to be

dicksforeyes
    Participant

I only actually started asking for money a few months ago. I taking home a few hundred more a week as a result.

Nightrose
    Participant

I’m hoping within another year or so to have a much more stable income from photography, once my studio is properly built. It is insanely difficult to make enough money when starting a photography business, and if it wasn’t for my husband “bringing home the bacon”, I would have crashed and burned a long time ago, lol!

stef
    Participant

I do.

Mrs Woo
    Participant

Nope – not me.  I have been a hobbyist photographer for more than 25 years.  I developed an illness that makes it hard to work a straight 40-hour work week and am hoping to take on photography work here and there on my good days and one day build it up high enough to be able to make enough to not be on disability anymore.  I considered pursuing graphic arts/photography or a degree in journalism out of high school but was talked out of it by parents who wanted me to be more practical, so now that I can’t do what I’m used to doing, hoping maybe my creativity can help me be productive on my good days often enough to provide for myself.

TXGRL
    Participant