Home Forums Photography Showcase How Can I Improve?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Vee
    Participant

Hi everyone!  I’m a long time lurker on the site.  Today, I finally signed up for an account.  I was hoping to get some feedback or advice about my photography.  I’ve always enjoyed photography but it’s fast becoming a passion of mine.  Art is important to me and although I have dabbled in painting and music, this is the first art-related activity where I genuinely care about the technical skill.  I’m not just trying to half-ass things while attempting to pass it off as “art”.  My equipment is amateur:  Canon T3i body, Canon EF 50mm 1.8, Canon EFS 55-250mm, Canon EFS 18-55mm and one Yongnuo YN560-II.  I’m hoping to be able to upgrade in the near future, but money is pretty tight right now.  I don’t have any formal training in photography.  However, I have been reading a lot and watching a lot of videos.  Also, I have a subscription to Jerry Ghionis’ website and a few Karl Taylor DVDs.  The problem is, I’ve never had anyone guide me, personally, on what I could do to be better.   Getting praise from family and friends is nice but even if they were the brutally-honest type, I don’t think any of them know much about photography.  I know shooting more often is important and I try to, whenever I can.  I get a little frustrated with my photos because I’m not always sure whether it’s my cheaper lenses or me causing the lack of sharpness.  Whether you believe in it or not, I try not to be the type of photographer who takes 1000 photos and uses 3.  I like learning how to be consistent, not accidental.  Any way, here is a link to my Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/116658164@N04/

All of the photos were taken between July 2013-Feb 2014.  I think I’ve gotten a bit better since I started but at this point I’d do well with some advice from experienced photographers.

Thanks!