Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? How am I doing?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 96 total)
  • Author
    nairbynairb
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m a new photographer – started about a year ago. I eventually want to make money out of my photography. So far I have shot friends/family/couples and I did a wedding (unpaid).

I only recently purchased a wireless flash trigger because I love strobist stuff. I currently only have one Canon 430ex II flash so I am slightly limited with what I can do.

I’m looking for a critique on this self-portrait I shot this morning. Any tips/suggestions for next time are very welcome!

Self Portrait

It was shot at f8, 100 ISO and 1/200

cameraclicker
    Participant

I like it, but your expression says:  “When is this going to work?”

I find self portraits difficult.  I suppose it would work with a flash.  The best method I have found is to tether the camera and set EOS Utility to release the shutter every 10 seconds — or any short interval — then pre-focus and step into the frame for several shots.  Listen to music and/or think thoughts to elicit the desired expression.   I have tried it with continuous lights.  Perhaps next time I will try it with strobes.

nairbynairb
    Participant

Hey thanks!

Ya, I’m not use to being the one in front of the lens.

This was pic 8 of like 13 so I was just trying to get the lighting right.

nairbynairb
    Participant

Hey, sorry to bring back this old topic… But I’m looking for a critique again!

6 months has passed since the last one and I think I’ve improved!

This was shot with a white shoot-through umbrella.

1/250     100 ISO    f 3.5

New Umbrella

Let me know what you think/if I’ve gotten any better 😛

Worst Case Scenario
    Participant