Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Honest Opinions?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    mcian98
    Participant

I am a high school student, so with school, I don’t take pictures as often as I’d like. As of right now, I do some paid family portraits, and have done an engagement shoot for my cousin. Some of the other material is just stuff I’ve taken for fun.

I shoot with a Canon Rebel t5i; I have the kit 18-55mm and 55-20mm lenses, as well as a 50mm f/1.8. I rented a 24-70mm for the engagement pictures, and enjoyed shooting with that, so it may be my next investment.

Any tips or critiques are much appreciated! Thanks!

http://tinyurl.com/ianmphoto

cameraclicker
    Participant

This may be a duplicate. The first time did not appear to actually post, possibly due to the links which have been removed for this version… If you put your photos on Flickr, it will be easier to refer to them with links.
    Not awesome, but not bad.
    I suspect you have the 55-200 mm lens, not a 55-20 mm one.

So. Mostly the usual stuff. Watch your backgrounds, stuff creeps in. Faster glass, wide open, would let you blur the background more which might help in some cases. Pay more attention to light, the eye goes to bright and in-focus.

A bright half background like img_6150.jpg has will draw the eye to the background. Try cropping it at the edge of the barn. See what you think. With light like the girl is in, popping a flash would add catch light to the eyes. That might be good, or it might reflect too much off her glasses. Next time, set a low power flash pop for a shot or two to see the effect.

With img_5454.jpg did you try standing in the bright area behind them and have them just turn around where they were standing? How did that work? I think it might work better. Again, with the way the photo was taken, I would expect a low power flash pop to light their eyes.