Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Honest Opinions

Tagged: 

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Blitzkrieg
    Participant

I am a complete novice in the photography realm, I have read everything I can get my hands on and take as many shots in every different place I can find. I have a older Nikon D70 that I had the good fortune to come into, I cannot afford anything better at the moment. My finances also dictate that I have 2 manual lenses and one AutoFocus lense. Therefore I shoot in manual almost every shot so I don’t have to keep switching modes. The lenses I do have are the AF NIKKOR 28-85mm 1:3.5-4.5    The Toyo optics 500mm F:8 Mirror Lense and the Vivitar 70-210mm 1:4.5

I know none of the equipment is high-end, but what I am wondering is it allowing me to produce acceptable results. I have done some photo shoots for family and friends who just wanted some nice shots for a frame, they saw the shots I produced and decided to ask me to do a wedding. Keep in mind I am not charging for any of my services, I have been using these shoots as a chance to grow. Wedding’s have a whole different importance to them, I can’t just reshoot the next day.

I will link my Deviant Art account and if you have comments and critiques about how to improve my photos I would be very appreciative. I tried to tell the friends who want me to do their wedding to get a Professional photographer but alas they have stingier pockets than I. I’m more concerned about how well I handle the photos of people, but anything you have to say to help me improve the others would be fantastic. My goal is to learn, improve, save some money for some real equipment and then think about Charging. Way down the road.  If you think I am one of these Fauxtog and have a better chance of harassing them into finding a better photographer than improving my skills, I’m ready to hear it.

http://jedi-praxeum.deviantart.com/gallery/

Thank you for your consideration.

cameraclicker
    Participant