Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    James
    Participant

Hi All,

I stumbled across this site a few days ago and I’m pleased that someone has started to showcase all the appalling button pushers out there. I think it’s about time that people are named and shamed though. I’ve been a pro photographer for 20 years – newspapers, magazines, agencies etc. and I’m fed up with twats that announce themselves as ‘Photographers’ after buying a shit camera from Walmart and doing a hatchet job on a friends wedding.

The other thing that chaps my ass is: people who try and operate as freelancers in their spare time (when they are not at their full time job) and charge super low rates purely to get the work and then screw up the commission because they have no experience. Here’s some advice: If you want to be a proper pro photographer – ditch your day job and start at the bottom and work your way up. I started in a darkroom on £4,500 PA. YES A DARKROOM, with proper running water, nasty chemicals and real film. Ooooh it was real voodoo printing pictures by hand. Just because you have a digital camera and a printer, you are not a photographer. Get an eye, get some creativity and leave photoshop alone.

**Stepping down from soap-box.

James.

catz’more
    Participant

I have great respect for pro’s out there. Too many mom’s with camera’s. I am not a pro myself and I won’t go charging people for photos. I enjoy taking photos as a hobby and that is where it ends. I post some of my images on line and I have sold a few but it isn’t my line of business. I will never go and advertise myself as a photographer as I am not. I am a hobi-trographer.  But when I see  the work here, even I can do much better.   I am glad they are being exposed. I really hope that more MWC (mom’s with Camera’s) find this site and learn from this.

jetpix
    Participant

James –