Home Forums Photography Showcase Feedback appreciated!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    twelvethirtyfour
    Participant

Hello all! I am an aspiring professional who is new to the site. I have had my D3100 for a little over 5 years now and have gotten to the point where I’ve been asked by my friends and friends of friends to take pictures of their family, engagement, etc. I never felt comfortable doing so because I was just a mom who loved taking pics of her kids. I started doing some looking and around and reaching out to some successful local photographers asking them how they got their start and where should I start to take the first step in having my own business. Each one had the same answer. First, practice practice practice. Get outta Auto and learn Manual. Understand light. So for the past month I’ve dove head first into workshops. YouTube. Articles. Forums. I’ve even done free photo sessions. I bought Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom and have also dove headfirst into that portion of the business also. I purchased my first prime lens (50mm 1.8).
    I found this site after a friend sent me a link and I’ve been hooked. I just wanted to dip my toe in and get some feedback from this group as well. Am I on the right track? I don’t want to be a feauxtog. I love photography. And it’s an absolute dream of mine to do this for a living. Not just “natural light on site” but to own my own studio as well.

Advice? Tips? Anything is appreciated!!!

cameraclicker
    Participant

Some of the photographer’s job is taking/making photos.  The rest is sales, marketing, accounting, administration, etc. (all the business stuff), and if you are shooting people, psychology.

I don’t see a link to any of your photos, so can’t comment on where your photography is at.  How are your business and interpersonal skills?

twelvethirtyfour
    Participant