Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? feedback

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    heatherrenee4
    Participant

as dumb and scary as this may be lol, ( i have seen some comments posted on other photographers pictures, i would like some feedback on what i do right or what i could improve on. (on my recent albums please. i have been taking some clases and know some of the problems with my older albums.) 🙂 thanks! https://www.facebook.com/heather.renee.ours

IHF
    Participant

As an amateur I would say… Nice family snap shots 🙂

but, you’re in business so I have to be more critical.  I see lots of under exposure going on, and misuse of light.  You’re not using flash when you should be, and you don’t seem to be using any light modifiers either, and your editing doesn’t try to make up for that loss..  Your photos aren’t horrible, but they aren’t professional either.  To me it looks like photos that could be taken by anyone with a capable camera.  I know you only wanted me to look at your recent albums, but a skimmed through all of them. (Besides, being that you began just last spring, they are all recent anyway). I honestly don’t see a difference between newer and older shots other than your editing is cleaner with a more SOOC feel.

learn flash, learn light modification and how to use light to your advantage, and then work on good directing/posing.  I think learning how to meter would benefit your shots  as well. And pay more attention to those backgrounds!  Lots of trees coming out of people’s heads

I hope I was some help to you, and you get more comments that you can use as well.  Good luck to you

cameraclicker
    Participant

I agree with IHF, and will add try to focus on the eyes.  It could be Facebook but some photos are reasonably sharp and others seem off.

nairbynairb
    Participant

IHF and cameraclicker said what I was going to say… except: Get off those train tracks! Not only is it dangerous, but it’s extremely cliché

heatherrenee4