Home Forums Main YANAP Discussion Forum Fautog by force. Stories welcome!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Alley Lynn 2675
    Participant

I think something that it not talked about much on here is the forced Fautog. I am a hobby NATURE photographer. I do decent shots & have nice equipment. I like nature & want NOTHING to do with people, skin tones and especially large groups of  blinking people in horrible dresses. Yet, to my dismay, every few years I get badgered & bullied into doing a wedding. Usually the bride will say something like, “if you won’t do it I’ll just buy a bunch of disposable cameras for people”, & the horror of the thought gets me to agree. Every time, there I am, struggling to pose people, deal with mother-of-the-bridezilla & looking totally incompetent. As a photographer it’s a horrible feeling. My best shot it usually the bouquet! I will post my biggest mess this year after I blur the faces – yes it’s that bad.

If the public would only understand that there are many types of photography & someone who is good at one thing may be terrible at another. I try to enplane this to people & usually get a blank look. They seem to assume that my camera is doing all the work & I just follow it around.

Anyone else deal with this issue? How do you address it with people without making an enemy of them?

stef
    Participant

How do you address it with people without making an enemy of them?

In short, you say “No”.

In long, you say “Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo”.

They are putting the need for getting good images on you instead of taking their own responsibility. If not letting someone take advantage of you and put you in that situation makes an enemy out of them, they obviously weren’t your friend anyway.