Home Forums Let’s Talk Photography Encouragement/Constructive criticism?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    kschonsheck
    Participant

Hey all!

After discovering the umpteenth high school classmate taking crappy maternity photos, I came to YANAP for some reassurance – that MY images (almost) definitely won’t end up on here.

That said, I am not a seasoned professional. I assisted at my first wedding in ’08 and shot my first solo wedding in ’09 but the client stream has been little more than a trickle. I don’t have the cash flow for TONS of equipment – I shoot with a Nikon D90, an SB-700 speedlight, and a variety of mid-class lenses.  I know I need a backup camera, better lenses, and a decent lighting rig. I’d love to ramp up the efforts to expand this into a full business but I guess with all the faux’s out there, I wonder if it’s even worth the investment.  When I see people that I know, who KNOW I’m a photographer, hiring other people, it gets very discouraging. I’ve had several inquiries for smaller shoots, and when I quote them at $150/hr, I never hear from them again. I’m tired of underselling myself but if no one wants to pay me what I deserve, how am I supposed to get anything accomplished?

So I guess what I’m looking for is words of encouragement and also constructive criticism from someone who’s been in the business awhile. I’d love to have my images critiqued by someone who knows what makes a great photograph. Please check out my website – http://www.kathleenschonsheck.com/ – and/or facebook –https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kathleen-Schonsheck-Photography-Fine-Art/252209941525778 (sorry, the editor isn’t letting me do that neatly!) Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!! 🙂

dicksforeyes
    Participant

https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/282854_333093923437379_793809829_n.jpg

You are a fauxtographer. You don’t deserve any money at all. The problem isn’t your equipment, it’s you. Hope this helps.

jetpix