Home Forums Photography Showcase Developing a personal style – Color vs Realism?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    harryd
    Participant

Aloha community. And thanks in advance for your time,

I’d like to say that I’m feeling let down by the lack of critical comments on photo sharing sites. I’ve read a number of comments here, though, and am impressed by the knowledge and thoughtfulness people share.

I’m new to photography. I was injured a couple of years ago, so I took up photography to take the place of my passion for snowboarding. I have not had an opportunity to be involved in art previously in my life (I’m 54 now). A new chapter.

I enjoy deep, rich, saturated colors, but don’t want to communicate a cartoon(ish) feel. It seems like a very fine line. Especially with Facebook’s image compression. Yikes. On the other hand, I’d like to have my own “style” and to me that means some deviation from realistic.

I use Magic Lantern on my camera and Darktable on my computer.

My long term goal would be to be involved in science communication through photography. Maybe with an NGO or such.

Please give me some feedback on where I’m succeeding and failing in communicating through my photos.

http://yourshot.nationalgeographic.com/profile/898394/

cameraclicker
    Participant

Harry, Nat Geo’s pages say: “We encourage an active community discussion that adheres to our community guidelines.”  And, the guidelines say you can’t be offensive.  Reading through the posts here, you have probably seen people take offence when someone posts a negative comment.