Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Curious

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Intuition
    Participant

I’m currently in school for Photography, but I’m curious to what people think of my work. I try hard not to be a fauxtog, and everyone I work with knows that I am a student and I’m learning as I go. I also only recently was able to calibrate my monitors with hardware so a lot of my older stuff is ridiculously dark. I do acknowledge I sometimes get caught up in fauxtog-ey cycles sometimes then i smack myself and get better. I also tend to get Actiony with some of my conceptual/editorial-esque type work, I know it, it’s a flaw haha. but anyway be honest, as much as it may hurt, I can only get better for it 🙂

http://www.facebook.com/media/albums/?id=345019928854895

Intuition
    Participant

I don’t know whether to be scared at the lack of replies or happy -_- haha

Nightrose
    Participant

I like the first album with the dogs – just watch that some of the backgrounds look a little wonky and would benefit from being straightened (nitpicking).  The other pet photo albums are good too, and I think they’re better than the ones with the children (this could be because I like animals more than I like kids, lol). Perhaps pet photography could be something you can focus on once you finish your schooling?

The “stunning canvas” shots are cool, and you’ve got some pretty interesting conceptual work – maybe some of them could be better focussed – but there are some nice ideas.

The action shots of the girl in the snow don’t really work – wonky horizons, too dark (as you pointed out in your post, you only recently calibrated your monitor), and not enough shutter speed to make them crisp. The intentionally blurry shot of her jumping needs to be taken out of your portfolio, as it is nowhere near the quality of your other work.  Sometimes ideas don’t work out, and the resulting shots should never been seen by others 😀