Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Critique my work please?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    abobeck11
    Participant

I am a 16 year old photographer completely self taught. Can someone tell me how I’m doing? Website is http://www.aaronbobeckphotography.com, portfolio is on my homepage. You can also look at my other galleries on there if you want.

MrsManiak
    Participant

Hi Abobeck!

First off, I’m still learning myself, so my critiques won’t be as thorough as anyone else’s.

http://www.aaronbobeckphotography.com/Portfolio/i-284hStq

The spot color. It draws your eyes to what is colored, and away from your subject. It’s tacky and overused (and usually screams faux). From what I understand though, if the client wants it, you do what they’re paying you for.. just don’t add it to your portfolio. That being said, when you do it, zoom all the way in and make sure you don’t miss a spot or color something that’s not supposed to be colored. You missed a part of the ball, and colored his fingers a bit.

http://www.aaronbobeckphotography.com/Portfolio/i-QQvzK79

I love this one, especially the framing. The girl on the left has a hot spot on her cheek, and honestly I don’t know how much of an issue that is in the professional world. If you had moved to the left and had them turn to face you (putting the sun more behind them and less from the side) I’m pretty sure that would have eliminated it.

http://www.aaronbobeckphotography.com/Portfolio/i-TFnF7dH