Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Constructive Criticism?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    mcian98
    Participant

I’m a new photographer who recently started taking pictures. I’ve been trying my best to learn a lot about the camera and to use manual mode! I’m looking for some feedback on how to improve my work-it would be GREATLY appreciated!

http://emceequeen.foliohd.com/view/UTL#dOSJ

nesgran
    Participant

Are you charging these people for taking photos or is it more of a hobby at the moment?

mcian98
    Participant

At the moment, I charge people $30 for an hour/hour-and-a-half of family photography. This is only a starting price, and yes, it’s low, but I do charge people

On a side note, the wedding picture in the portfolio was taken while I was the guest at a wedding; I do not charge or offer wedding photos.

nesgran
    Participant

Ok, pricing seems right to cover your gas mileage. Bear in mind that you will require insurance and be signed up for taxes etc as otherwise if you get sued or the IRS takes a fancy you’re completely screwed.

To start off with, it isn’t all that bad. I’ve seen photographers who’ve been in the business far longer take photos at that level but on the other hand there are problems. A few general pointers are that your colour consistency isn’t good. I see warm, I see slightly to rather green and I see varying levels of saturation in your photos from the same shoot. Are you on a calibrated monitor? If not that would be my suggestion to get first for investments in the business. Second would be some form of flash or reflectors.

I would cull shots which don’t look crisp and sharp like the kid with the bike helmet. It looks a bit odd somehow, have you used lots of noise reduction on it or is just slightly out of focus?