Home Forums Am I a Fauxtog? Comment & Critique

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    MJ
    Participant

Hello!

New to the site and have enjoyed rummaging through all the posts on the page as well as in the forums.

I graduated from a BFA program a few years ago. I’m still new to the business side of photography but feel I have been doing pretty well so far. I work primarily as a production photographer for theatre companies in Halifax, NS doing archival and promotional work. I shoot both dress rehearsals and set-up photocalls. I also occasionally do headshots for performers and portraits for friends. I feel my production work is stronger than my portrait work so that’s where I put my focus in business wise but I don’t turn down portrait and headshot work. My website also includes some of my personal work just as an idea of scope of my work, but it’s not for sale.

Anyway, it’s been a while since I’ve gotten some comments and critiques on my work, I’ve kind of missed that aspect of being in school, so I would appreciate some constructive criticism.

Here’s my website: http://www.mjphotographics.com

– MJ

cameraclicker
    Participant

Text from your page:  “My approach to portraits is very much like the Impressionists, I like natural light the the great outdoors. So, when possible, I conduct all portrait and headshot sessions outside and in the downtown Halifax area.”

A few quick general comments, ’cause your photos are pretty good:

Leslie’s skin is too bright, and her chest and arms are too bright relative to her face.

The bottom half of Monica’s photo, could also be a little darker, try dodging a bit and see what you think.

I know they’re head shots.  Tim seems like a big friendly guy.  Too big, in the photo, perhaps.  I think if he were back  a bit further, I wouldn’t feel like he was in my face, quite so much.  His eyes could be sharper/more in focus?  He needs to get a haircut.